: 12 European countries call for visa liberalization with Ukraine

11:55 Apr. 23, 2016

12 European countries call for visa liberalization with Ukraine

A Ukrainian flag mixed with the flag of the European Union stands among flags for sale at a vendor's stall on September 14, 2014 in Lviv, Ukraine. (Getty Images)

E.U. foreign ministers discuss cooperation with eastern neighbours

The foreign ministers of the Nordic-Baltic Eight countries (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Lithuania, Latvia, Norway, Sweden) and the Visegrad Four Group (Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia) have noted the urgent need to establish visa-free regime between Ukraine and the E.U.

Read also Italy is positive about visa-free regime for Ukraine, fears no migration threats

According to the Foreign Ministry of Latvia, a statement was made during the regular meeting of the NB8 and V4 states' foreign ministers concerning the development of the Eastern Partnership initiative.

The ministers expressed their readiness to continue supporting the realisation of the Association Agreements with Georgia, Ukraine and Moldova. They also recognised the need to urgently grant Ukraine and Georgia visa-free regime.

Read also NATO prepares to offer Georgia and Ukraine an 'Association Partnership'

comments powered by Disqus


Politics15:29 Oct. 22, 2016
Resolution on WWII events and Russian aggression against Ukraine adopted in Poland
Politics14:15 Oct. 22, 2016
Ukraine will sue Russia over the ban of Crimean Tatars Mejlis
Politics13:39 Oct. 22, 2016
Three US states reject Russian request to monitor election – NYT
Politics18:38 Oct. 21, 2016
Smoke on water: Russian only carrier filmed passing English Channel
Politics17:35 Oct. 21, 2016
Mariupol region becomes the epicenter of Russian aggression - Turchynov
Subscribe to receive regular email updates about Ukraine and Eastern Europe