European Support for Ukraine: Anti-Russian sanctions extended by five European countries, including Ukraine
Politics16:24 Oct. 25, 2016

Anti-Russian sanctions extended by five European countries, including Ukraine

In September the European Union Council prolonged by six more months the application of EU sanctions targeting 146 persons and 37 entities  

Four more countries have prolonged sanctions against Moscow for another six months. Montenegro, Albania, Liechtenstein and Norway imposed restrictions against the Kremlin for violation of the sovereignty of Ukraine and annexation of Crimea.

Federica Mogherini welcomed this decision in her statement saying "the European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it."

The sanctions imposed by Brussels against Russia will be valid until the end of 2017.

Read more EU prolongs sanctions over Russia's actions against Ukraine's territorial integrity

The Russian military intervention in Ukraine, which began in 2014, prompted a number of governments to apply sanctions against Russia, the punitive measures have been imposed by some 41 countries including the United States and the European Union members.


comments powered by Disqus


Politics20:07 Dec. 3, 2016
Ukraine insists on NATO PA meeting in Kyiv - Gerashchenko
Politics19:34 Dec. 3, 2016
Russia's spreading of fakes ‘is beyond propaganda' – U.S. Intel
Politics16:41 Dec. 3, 2016
Politician makes claims about 'massive corruption' in Ukraine
Politics15:45 Dec. 3, 2016
U.S. failed to separate opposition from terrorists in Syria – Moscow
Politics12:02 Dec. 3, 2016
Lavrov ‘doesn't understand' why Kyiv continues military operation
Subscribe to receive regular email updates about Ukraine and Eastern Europe