: Cities in occupied Donbas and Crimea lose their Soviet names

12:05 May. 12, 2016

Cities in occupied Donbas and Crimea lose their Soviet names

Ukraine dismantles a Lenin monument (UNIAN Photo)

More than one hundred cities and villages renamed by Ukrainian Parliament

Around one hundred cities and villages in occupied Crimea and parts of Donbas lost their names, assigned to them by the Soviet Union. Ukrainian Parliament renamed them in accordance with the decommunization process, started in the country after the events of the Maidan revolution.

Watch also: Ukrainian legacy buried under Soviet monument

Thus, Ukraine changed names of 61 villages and 12 cities in the Donetsk and Luhansk regions. Additionally, 74 villages and 1 city was renamed in Russian-occupied Crimea.

Ukrainian lawmakers reported, the decision would come into force the day after it was published.

Ukraine approved the law on the decommunization of the country in May, 2015. The country's deputies ordered to rename more than 160 cities and villages. Additionally, Ukrainian Ministry of Culture gave way to demolish about 800 Soviet monuments.

Read also: Square in Western Ukraine named after pop-art founder Andy Warhol

The toppled statues of Soviet leader Vladimir Lenin were greeted as a symbol of Ukraine's push to break from its communist past.

comments powered by Disqus


Politics15:47 Dec. 7, 2016
Poland buys drones, weapons to repel 'potential Russian threat'
Politics15:43 Dec. 7, 2016
Russia tops agenda of NATO's Foreign Ministers discussions
Politics15:40 Dec. 7, 2016
Donald Trump named Time's Person of the Year
Politics15:09 Dec. 7, 2016
International community must keep pressuring Russia to respect Minsk - Stoltenberg
Politics15:00 Dec. 7, 2016
Five Ukrainian soldiers wounded in Donbas
Subscribe to receive regular email updates about Ukraine and Eastern Europe