: European Commission wants to agree with nine countries to take back migrants

15:00 Jun. 7, 2016

European Commission wants to agree with nine countries to take back migrants

Migrants are escorted through fields by police as they are walked from the village of Rigonce to Brezice refugee camp on October 23, 2015 in Rigonce,, Slovenia. (Getty Images)

EC will sign partnership agreements with African and Middle East countries 

The European Commission (EC) is going to sign partnership agreements with nine countries in Africa and the Middle East to counter illegal migration, said European Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship Dimitris Avramopoulos, kommersant.ru reports with reference to Die Welt.

Watch also Number of migrants across Aegean Sea falling significantly – Stoltenberg

Among these countries are Jordan, Lebanon, Tunisia, Niger, Mali, Ethiopia, Senegal, Nigeria and Libya.

It is planned that in the period from 2016 to 2020, about EUR 8 billion will be allocated to finance these partnership agreements, and this is only in the short term, said the Commissioner. In the autumn, the European Commission will present a EUR 31 billion plan to combat the causes of migration, which will also include private investment, he said.

According to the EC representative, an investment of up to EUR 62 billion may be involved.

Reporting by UNIAN


Politics12:25 Dec. 10, 2016
Russia and Ukraine were close to reaching deal on gas
Politics10:09 Dec. 10, 2016
Secret CIA analysis says Russia intervened to help Trump win
Politics19:15 Dec. 9, 2016
Speeding train to connect Kyiv and Przemyśl by Christmas
Politics18:00 Dec. 9, 2016
EU to extend sanctions on Russia in December - Reuters
Politics17:15 Dec. 9, 2016
Russian foreign minister calls Reuters journalist 'an imbecile' (VIDEO)
Subscribe to receive regular email updates about Ukraine and Eastern Europe