Russian ‘elections' in Crimea: Seventh country condemns Russian ‘elections' in Crimea

20:26 Sep. 18, 2016

Seventh country condemns Russian ‘elections' in Crimea

Margot Wallstrom (Photo by

Diplomats of Sweden, USA, Romania, Denmark, Estonia and Lithuania declared they do not recognize Russian MP's to be elected in Crimea

Sweden will not recognize the results of Russian Duma elections on the annexed Crimean Peninsula. Swedish Foreign Minister Margot Wallström wrote this on Twitter.

"Deplore Russia's holding of Duma elections today in illegally annexed Crimea. Not recognising any that are "elected" in Crimea," Wallström wrote.

As reported, German Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier said that the Duma elections held in Crimea will not be recognized. Same position was announced by US Ambassador Marie Louise Yovanovitch. Earlier unrecognition of Russian elections in Crimea was declared by Romania, Denmark, Estonia and Lithuania.

Ukraine's MFA today declared, that Russian parliamentary elections undermine legitimacy of the State Duma.

comments powered by Disqus


Politics18:38 Oct. 21, 2016
Smoke on water: Russian only carrier filmed passing English Channel
Politics18:00 Oct. 21, 2016
Donbas reintegration now ‘a suicide' for Ukraine – analyst
Politics17:35 Oct. 21, 2016
Mariupol region becomes the epicenter of Russian aggression - Turchynov
Politics17:16 Oct. 21, 2016
Disgruntlement grows in Netherlands over Poroshenko's MH17 -Association remark
Politics17:02 Oct. 21, 2016
A group of Ukrainian lawmakers slams possible elections in Donbas
Subscribe to receive regular email updates about Ukraine and Eastern Europe