News from Europe: Six more countries back EU's decision to extend sanctions against Crimea

17:51 Jul. 20, 2016

Six more countries back EU's decision to extend sanctions against Crimea

Graffiti featuring Russian President Vladimir Putin in Sevastopol, Crimea (Getty Images)

Russia illegally annexed Ukraine's Black Sea peninsula in 2014 

Six more countries decided to support the EU decision to extend sanctions against the Crimea and Sevastopol until June 23, 2017.

Read also Sanctions to continue if Russia refuses to address Donbas and Crimea issues – Kerry

This is stated in the declaration by EU High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy Federica Mogherini.

Candidate countries for EU membership Montenegro and Albania, members of the European Area Liechtenstein and Norway, as well as Ukraine and Georgia aligned themselves with this Council Decision to prolong sanctions imposed in response to Russia's illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol.

"They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision. The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it", the statement reads.

Ukraine's Parliament (Verkhovna Rada) officially declared February 20, 2014, a beginning of Russia's illegal occupation of Crimea and Sevastopol. Numerous world leaders strongly condemned the illegal annexation and launched a range of economic sanctions against Russia.

Despite the overall resentment, Moscow rejects the notion "occupation", naming its deeds instead "a renewal of historical justice".

comments powered by Disqus


Politics20:07 Dec. 3, 2016
Ukraine insists on NATO PA meeting in Kyiv - Gerashchenko
Politics19:34 Dec. 3, 2016
Russia's spreading of fakes ‘is beyond propaganda' – U.S. Intel
Politics16:41 Dec. 3, 2016
Politician makes claims about 'massive corruption' in Ukraine
Politics15:45 Dec. 3, 2016
U.S. failed to separate opposition from terrorists in Syria – Moscow
Politics12:02 Dec. 3, 2016
Lavrov ‘doesn't understand' why Kyiv continues military operation
Subscribe to receive regular email updates about Ukraine and Eastern Europe