EU sanctions: Switzerland extends sanctions against Russian MPs

10:48 Nov. 18, 2016

Switzerland extends sanctions against Russian MPs

A Swiss national flag flies on the side of a residential building in Lugano, Switzerland. Nov. 15, 2016 (Getty Images)

Six people, elected in occupied Crime as Duma deputies, included in the list

Switzerland adds more people to the watchlist, aimed to prevent bypassing sanctions of the US and the European Union, implemented because of Russian aggression in Ukraine. 

Six people, whose names are now added, were elected in Crimea and Sevastopol as new Duma (Russian parliament) deputies. 

Read also US mulls new Russia sanctions for Ukraine and Syria campaigns

On November 17, federal Department of economics, education and research (DEFR) added to the sanction list the following persons: Ruslan Balbek, Konstantin Bakharev, Dmytro Belik, Andriy Kozenko, Svitlana Savchenko, Pavlo Shperov.

Read also EU to extend sanctions on Russia in December - Reuters

From now on, they cannot bypass EU and US sanctions through Switzerland. These "deputies" were already added to the sanction list of European Union - concerning violating territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine.  Later they were also added to US sanction list. 

comments powered by Disqus


Politics17:50 Dec. 5, 2016
Ukraine amongst world's top 10 weapons exporters - SIPRI
Politics16:57 Dec. 5, 2016
Another Russian nurse died after shelling in Aleppo
Politics16:00 Dec. 5, 2016
Ukrainian para's have undertaken training by British instructors (photos)
Politics14:20 Dec. 5, 2016
Situation in eastern Ukraine remains extremely serious – Stoltenberg
Politics13:53 Dec. 5, 2016
BREAKING: Russian nurse killed in Syria (UPDATED)
Subscribe to receive regular email updates about Ukraine and Eastern Europe