Anti-Russian sanctions: Updated Ukrainian sanctions against Russia take effect as of Oct 31

10:40 Oct. 31, 2016

Updated Ukrainian sanctions against Russia take effect as of Oct 31

Ukraine prolongs sanctions against Russia

New companies and individuals have been added. The list includes a number of citizens of France, Greece, Italy, Serbia, Bulgaria, and Israel

Presidential order No. 467/2016, which enacts a resolution by the National Security and Defense Council (NSDC) on the prolongation of earlier introduced anti-Russian sanctions for another 12 months plus the introduction of additional sanctions against new companies and individuals, became effective on October 31.

The presidential order was signed on October 17.

The NSDC resolution introduced in 2015 initially put 347 individuals on the list, with 335 people added this time.

Watch also Anti-Russian sanctions extended by five European countries, including Ukraine

Now the list includes the founders of Open Joint Stock Bank Rossiya Nikolay Shamalov (according to the media, he is the father of Kirill Shamalov, the husband of Russian president's younger daughter), Gennady Timchenko, Ivan Mironov, Alexei Mordashov, Yury Kovalchuk, Tatiana Mirovaya; founders of Commercial Bank Financial Standard Vadim Pristupa, Sergei Galchenko, Viktor Belyanin, Kirill Zagaynov, and Andrei Ispolatov. Also the sanctions list covers the founders of a number of other banks: Russian National Commercial Bank, PJSC Agroinkombank, JSC CB Severniy Kredit, JSC Genbank, JSC Fia-Bank, JSC BaykalBank, CJSC IS Bank, and JSC Sevastopol Morskoy Bank.

In addition, the sanctions were imposed on Chairman of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly Valentina Matvienko, Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin, deputies of the State Duma Vladimir Zhirinovsky and Elena Mizulina and several other members of the Council of Federation and Duma deputies.

Subject to the Ukrainian sanctions are Representative of the Russian president in the North Caucasian Federal District Oleg Belavenetsev, Permanent Representative of the Russian president in the Siberian Federal District Sergei Menyaylo, the Russian president's envoy to the Southern Federal District Vladimir Ustinov, deputy commander of the Russian Black Sea fleet Vice Admiral Alexander Nosatov, deputy commander of the Black Sea fleet of the Russian Federation Denis Berezovsky, Deputy Secretary of the Russian Security Council Rashid Nurgaliyev, Russia's Security Council Secretary Nikolai Patrushev, and others.

Sanctions were also imposed on citizens of Ukraine who hold senior positions in the Russian-occupied Crimea and related to the de-facto Crimean authorities, are in command of Russia's Black Sea fleet, the Armed Forces of Russia or represent the Russian FSB security service. In addition, subject to the sanctions are Russian military who were or continue to be in command of the Russian army and Russian-controlled terrorist organizations "DPR" and "LPR" in Donbas.

What is more, the sanctions list includes a number of citizens of France, Greece, Italy, Serbia, Bulgaria, and Israel.

Reported by UNIAN

comments powered by Disqus


Politics17:15 Dec. 9, 2016
Russian foreign minister calls Reuters journalist 'an imbecile' (VIDEO)
Politics16:47 Dec. 9, 2016
"Ukraine at crossroads between prosperous future or continued corruption"
Politics15:30 Dec. 9, 2016
EP to review a suspension mechanism bill on December 15
Politics15:02 Dec. 9, 2016
Complete silence in conflict zone ‘unreal' – Lavrov
Politics14:18 Dec. 9, 2016
Russia extends asylum for Yanukovych till October 2017
Subscribe to receive regular email updates about Ukraine and Eastern Europe