Ukrainians can win Polish literary award: Two Ukrainians enter semifinal for Angelus 2016 literary award

18:35 Aug. 10, 2016

Two Ukrainians enter semifinal for Angelus 2016 literary award

Katia Petrowska and Vasyl Makhno can rival for the prestigious prize this year

Katia Petrowska and Vasyl Makhno can rival for the prestigious prize this year 

Two Ukrainian authors, alongside Polish, Lithuanian, Romanian, Slovak and Belarusian writers, have a chance to win the prestigious literary award Angelus, granted by Poland to mark the best writers in Central Europe.

The prize is given to the best book published in the Polish language in the previous year.

Read also MERIDIAN CZERNOWITZ, Serhiy Zhadan and 30 public organizations create Ukrainian literary 'network'

This year Ukrainian Katia Petrowska with her book 'Maybe Esther' and Vasyl Makhno with his collection of short stories 'Letters and Air' will compete in the semifinals.

The award ceremony takes place in Wroclaw to award prose-writers whose novels touch upon the most crucial issues of the modern world, make readers resort to reflection and aspire to have a deeper understanding of other cultures.


The jury chose the finalists among seventy prose works published in Polish in 2015, with authors representing 21 countries: Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Macedonia, Moldova, Germany, Poland, Russia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine and Hungary.

In early September, the jury will announce seven shortlisted authors. The winner will be selected on October 15 to take home EUR 35,000 and an 'Angelus' statuette.

Last year Serhiy Zhadan has become the third Ukrainian-born writer to win the prestigious literary award Angelus for his novel 'Mesopotamia', which was published in Ukraine in 2014 and translated to Polish in 2015.   


Serhiy Zhadan. Photo courtesy - social media

In 2013, Ukrainian-born Oksana Zabuzhko recieved the same prize for her book 'The Museum of Abandoned Secrets', while Ukrainian born Yuri Andrukhovych was the first winner of the Angelus Central Europe Literature Award in 2006 for his novel "Twelve Rings." 


Oksana Zabuzhko. Photo courtesy -

Yuri Andrukhovych. Photo courtesy -

In 2011, the Angelus prize was awarded to Ukrainian-born Belarusian writer Svetlana Alexievich, who recently won the 2015 Nobel Prize for literature.

Svetlana Alexievich. Photo courtesy -

comments powered by Disqus


Society13:55 Oct. 21, 2016
One more Lenin toppled in Ukraine, this time in annexed Crimea
Society17:51 Oct. 20, 2016
The world's largest book fair has kicked off in Germany
Society16:52 Oct. 20, 2016
Samsung enlists Ukrainians to beat Hungary labor crunch - Reuters
Society18:16 Oct. 19, 2016
Last Chornobyl residents about their life in exclusion zone
Society16:35 Oct. 19, 2016
Volunteers uncover more Russia's high-end weapons in Ukraine
Subscribe to receive regular email updates about Ukraine and Eastern Europe